Fast Food Review: Qudoba vs Chipotle

I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again: Fast food joints can only be so good. Sure, they might not be as terrible as the hole in the wall with poor management, but they will never be as good as that one “hole in the wall” you fell in love with. Generally speaking, chain restaurants will not stray too far from mediocrity.

After doing some business and hungry during a cold night, I strolled into a Qudoba to see if I would hate it. Last time I had been to another Qudoba, I was left questioning why I even went there in the first place. I was unimpressed. This time, however, I was not completely off put. In fact, I had mixed emotions.

Seeing if I could get a good deal at this restaurant the same way I do Chipotle, I ordered a burrito bowl.(I’m not sure if that’s what they call them, but whatever) Surprisingly, everything in the bowl was better than Chipotle. The chicken tasted better and the rice was cooked almost perfectly. Instead of Tabasco sauce and lemons, I had the choice of limes and Cholua which were much more fitting for a Mexican dining experience. While Qudoba takes pride in not charging for guacamole, the price of the bowl was about as much more as it would have cost to get guacamole at Chipotle.

What was the deal breaker? The tortillas. The corn tortillas Qudoba had were cheap and “fast-foody.” While their bowl contents and other options may be better, Chipotle has authentic corn tortillas that are irresistable. Chipotle remains the king of Mexican-fast-casual in my book.

Leave a comment